Ingolstadt, 19 – 21 October 2022


Nien-hê Hsieh

Harvard Business School

Nien-hê Hsieh is the Kim B. Clark Professor of Business Administration and Joseph L. Rice, III Faculty Fellow in the General Management Unit. His research concerns ethical issues in business and the responsibilities of global business leaders. He joined the faculty from The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania, where he was an associate professor of legal studies and business ethics and served as co-director of the Wharton Ethics Program. For the 2021-2022 academic year, he is serving as the Acting Director of the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics at Harvard University. Professor Hsieh’s research centers on the question of whether and how managers ought to be guided not only by considerations of economic efficiency, but also by values such as freedom and fairness and respect for basic rights.


Sharun Mukand

University of Warwick

Sharun W. Mukand is Professor of Economics at the University of Warwick and a leads the research team on culture, politics and development at the Center for Competitive Advantage in the Global Economy (CAGE). He has also been a Member of the Institute for Advanced Study at Princeton. His recent work focuses on the role of ideas and propaganda in catalyzing nation building and liberal democracy.


Benjamin M. Friedman

Harvard University

Benjamin M. Friedman has been a member of the economics faculty at Harvard University since 1972. He is the William Joseph Maier Professor of Political Economy, and formerly Chairman of the Department of Economics, at Harvard University. He was also a long-time director and member of the editorial board of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. Much of this work has focused on economic policy, and in particular on the role of the financial markets in shaping how monetary and fiscal policies affect overall economic activity. Specific subjects of this work have included the effects of government budget deficits, guidelines for the conduct of U.S. monetary policy, and appropriate policy actions in response to crises in a country's banking or financial system.

Prof. Dr. Jörg Althammer
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Marc Aubreville
Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Steffen Augsberg
Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen
Dr. Claudius Bachmann
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Dr. Alejandro A. Chafuen
Acton Institute
Prof. Dr. Wim Decock
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Emunds
Prof. Dr. Alexis Fritz
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Bernward Gesang
Universität Mannheim
Prof. Dr. Edeltraud Günther
Technische Universität Dresden
Dr. Christian Hofmann
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
apl. Prof. Dr. Bettina Hollstein
Universität Erfurt
Dr. Karin Hutflötz
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Tado Juric
University of Zagreb
Prof. Dr. Martin Kirschner
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Andreas Lob-Huedepohl
Katholische Hochschule für Sozialwesen Berlin
Dr. Dr. Anton Losinger
Weihbischof, Bistum Augsburg
Prof. Dr. Elke Mack
Universität Erfurt
Dr. Karl-Hinrich Manzke
Landesbischof, Landeskirche Schaumburg-Lippe
Kardinal Reinhard Marx
Erzbischof, Erzbistum München und Freising
Martin Mehl
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Gerhard Minnameier
Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main
Prof. Dr. Fabio Monsalve
Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha
Prof. Dr. Dr. Elmar Nass
Kölner Hochschule für Katholische Theologie
Prof. Dr. Bernhard Neumärker
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Zoher Bagheri Noaparast
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Ursula Nothelle-Wildfeuer
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Prof. Dr. Jochen Ostheimer
Universität Augsburg
Dr. Giovanni Patriarca
Congregation for Catholic Education
Prof. Dr. Ingo Pies
Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
Prof. Dr. Markus Riedenauer
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Xavier Ros
Prof. Dr. Lorenzo Sacconi
University of Mailand
Prof. Dr. Peter Schallenberg
Katholischen Sozialwissenschaftlichen Zentralstelle
Jakob Schäuble
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Annette Schnabel
Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Prof. Dr. Rudolf Schüßler
Universität Bayreuth
Dr. Maximilian Sommer
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Krassimir Stojanov
Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Andreas Suchanek
HHL Leipzig Graduate School of Management
Dr. Ulf Tranow
Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf
Dr. Zoran Turza
University of Zagreb
Prof. Dr. Matthias Uhl
Technische Hochschule Ingolstadt
Prof. Dr. Christiane Woopen
Universität Bonn
Prof. Dr. Ludger Wößmann
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Normative Foundations of Open Societies
19 – 21 October 2022

International and interdisciplinary conference on the principle of solidarity in cosmopolitan and open societies
© 2022 Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
Forgot password?